Dr. Edward H. Bersoff

Saint of Service Award (Outstanding Community Member)

Dr. Edward H. Bersoff is the Chairman of Greenwich Associates, LLC, a business advisory firm located in Bethesda, Maryland. In addition, he is the Chairman and founder of Parabilis, LLC a business finance company located in Northern Virginia. He was formerly the Chairman and CEO of ATS Corporation, a publicly traded (NYSE-AMEX) Northern Virginia based company serving the information technology needs of the Government and private sectors. ATSC was acquired in March, 2012. Dr. Bersoff now serves or has served on the boards of several other public and private companies. During his business career, Dr. Bersoff has served as the CFO of a public company, served as Lead Director of three public companies, chaired the audit committee of two public companies and has served on the audit, governance and compensation committees of other public companies. Dr. Bersoff is deeply involved in business, community and professional activities.

Read more about Dr. Bersoff here.

David M. Evinger, Class of 1994 and 1998

Distinguished Alumni Award

College of Business, Innovation, Technology

Mr. Evinger joined the Company and Bank as an Organizer in 2006 and currently serves as President, Chief Credit Officer, Director, and Secretary of Chain Bridge Bank, N.A. as well as President, Director, and Corporate Secretary of the Chain Bridge Bancorp, Inc. He has over 25 years of commercial banking and risk-management experience, including at James Monroe Bank as Senior Vice President and Chief Credit Officer. During his career, Mr. Evinger has focused his efforts on credit, lending, and risk-management strategies for a private investment fund, institutional lenders, and commercial banks. Mr. Evinger serves on the Advisory Board for Marymount University in Arlington, VA where he received his B.A. and M.B.A. degrees.

Read more about Mr. Evinger here.

Michael D. Smith, Class of 2001

Distinguished Alumni Award

College of Science and Humanities

Michael D. Smith is the eighth CEO of AmeriCorps, the federal agency for service and volunteerism formerly known as the Corporation for National and Community Service. Smith was nominated by President Biden in June 2021; confirmed by the U.S. Senate in December 2021; and officially started in January 2022. Smith has dedicated his career to social justice and public service in underserved communities like those where he grew up. Most recently, he served as executive director of the My Brother’s Keeper Alliance and director of Youth Opportunity Programs at the Obama Foundation. In these roles, Smith led the foundation’s efforts to reduce barriers and expand opportunity for boys and young men of color, their families and other underserved youth. Smith was part of the team that designed and launched the My Brother’s Keeper initiative in the Obama Administration, and was appointed special assistant to President Obama and senior director of cabinet affairs, managing the initiative and interagency task force at the White House.

Read more about Mr. Smith here.

Dr. Joseph E. Vorbach III, Class of 2013

Distinguished Alumni Award

College of Health and Education

Dr. Joseph Vorbach became Superintendent of Schools for the Diocese on July 1, 2019.  In that role, he works on behalf of Bishop Burbidge to support principals and pastors in the 41 schools of the Diocese where 18,000 students are enrolled.Prior to serving as Superintendent, Dr. Vorbach was Head of School at his alma mater, Bishop O’Connell High School in Arlington from 2013-2019 and Principal there from 2008 -2013.
Dr. Vorbach retired from the Coast Guard at the rank of Commander in 2008.  During his time in the Coast Guard, he served as operations officer on a 180-foot oceangoing buoy tender and as commanding officer of an 82-foot coastal patrol boat.  He was on the faculty of the Humanities Department at the Coast Guard Academy from 1995-2007 where he taught international relations and national security courses.  From 2007-2008, he was a Department of Homeland Security Chair at the National Defense University at Fort McNair in Washington, DC.

Read more about Dr. Vorbach here.

Dr. Rita Wong

Distinguished Faculty Award (Faculty Member of the Year)

Dr. Wong serves as the Associate Vice-President for Research, overseeing both external and internal research funding, strategic initiatives related to research, and faculty growth and development as researchers. She came to Marymount in 1995 as the founding Director of Marymount’s Physical Therapy program where she served in a leadership role from 1995 until 2013. In 2013, she transitioned into an academic affairs administration role overseeing graduate education. In that position she formalized structures to support graduate education and expanded and improved support for graduate students to serve as graduate assistants. This provides graduate students with much needed financial support while providing unique work-based learning opportunities.  Dr. Wong is a Catherine Worthingham Fellow of the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) as well as a Joan Mills and Lucy Blair Service Award recipient from the Academy of Geriatric Physical Therapy, both the highest honor awarded by those professional groups.

Read more about Dr. Wong here.

Charles Lindsay Jr

Charles T. "Terry" Lindsay, Jr.

Mother Gerard Phelan Gold Medal

Mr. Lindsay was a longtime member of Marymount University's Board of Trustees, devoted donor to the University, and Chairman of Lindsay Auto Group. In his distinguished career, he served as president of the Automotive Trade Association National Capital Area, the Northern Virginia Dealer Association and the Virginia Automotive Trade Association and was also selected for a Time Magazine Quality Dealer Award. In addition to his service to Marymount, Lindsay was a member of the Order of Malta and was active in charitable activities for organizations like the Arlington Diocesan Catholic Charities, Children's Hospital, Hospice of Northern Virginia, Autism Speaks and the Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Washington. In 2017, he and his wife Jeannie received the Saint Luke Award, which honors individuals whose professional lives or charitable works support the rebuilding of the spiritual, physical, emotional and intellectual lives of clergy and religious men and women in need.


(703) 284-1541
Marymount University
Office of Advancement
2807 N. Glebe Road
Arlington, Virginia 22207

© Marymount University. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy